Anonymous
Anonymous asked in HealthMental Health · 1 decade ago

Boyfriend emotional rollercoaster - am I to blame?

My BF used to be affectionate and laid back but lately he's an emotional rollercoaster. One minute he's sweet and happy, the next he's irritable and argumentative.

In his "negative" moments he has no patience with me and argues with me. But then a couple hours later he's happy, gving me bear hugs and buying me jewlery.

I tried talking to him but he got upset and said I'm the one that's negative and brings him down..... but I'm such an upbeat person! Any advice?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

First of all it is not your fault. Your boyfriend may have a mental illness he could have depression/GAD/Bipolar disorder. While i am not a doctor i suffer from depression and GAD which is Generalized Anxiety Disorder. Often times it is easier to blame other people for the odd things that one is feeling. I know that when i first started feeling symptoms i was confused and knew that these changes couldn't be my own fault. Or maybe i just didn't want them to be my fault...and the thing is, that it isn't any ones fault. This maybe hard to do but try and have your boyfriend talk to someone and if you can't get that to happen try to get help yourself so you don't end up feeling upset that you can't help him...I hope this helped.

• 1 decade ago

You're never to blame for someone else's behavior - that's their stuff. You are responsible for your own behavior - that's your stuff.

It's possible your BF may suffer from a personality disorder, causing his sudden mood swings. You might want to read through some of the common traits of personality disorders in the link below - especially splitting and mood swings to see if you recognize your situation.