what type of surfboard should i get if i am a beginner?

i Have rented a surfboard once and was real suprised at how well i did. it was a 6'8" board. I am surfing in NC and the waves arent real big. i would just like to know what type of board and how long.

thank you

5 Answers

Relevance
  • John F
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Well, well, well. I guess you don't read any of the resolved questions, huh? This EXACT question has been asked about ten times in the past week. And, while it may not be the most popular answer, there is really on one correct answer, so I have taken the liberty of cutting and pasting the same answer that I have given just a few times before.

Surfing can be great fun and provide a lifetime of enjoyment, if you take the time to learn the right way. Read the resolved questions on YA Surfing (and YA water Sports) and spend time talking to older, more experienced surfers and the industry professional at your local surf shops.

Now, for that answer: Lessons are the best way to start. Lessons can come from a professional instructor, or surfing family members or experienced surfing friends. You have to learn surf etiquette (so the experienced surfers in the line up don't want to drown you), how to paddle and take off on a wave, and how to ride a wave. The last thing experienced surfers want is for inexperienced people to just grab a board, rush into the surf and get in our way. Lessons shorten the learning curve significantly. And they help keep ignorant, un-prepared kooks out of the water and out of the way of more experienced surfers.