Would we be able to get approved for $125,000 home loan?

My husband & I are looking for our first home, and looking for a home to stay in for a very long time, so we aren't necessarily wanting the "starter home" look. The homes we are finding that we like and the note we figure up with our realtor are about the same as we pay for rent right now at our apartment...

My question is, if my husband makes $30,000 a year (I make strickly commission on my job, so I can't be figured in), one car note ($380/month) and no credit cards (all payed off) and he has excellent credit. I know it is impossible to know for sure without someone seeing all the info, but does anyone know our chances of being approved for a $125,000 home loan?? Thanks.

I'm new to all of this, so if anymore info is needed...I can provide it. We are going later this week to fill out all the paperwork, but I'm just curious whether to get my hopes up or not ;)

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

There are many options for home loans; however it is difficult to give you a direct answer without knowing where you live. Many states and communities can offer low income loan programs (for example here in Massachusetts we have Mass Housing). What you need to look at is your debt to income ratio. For example: If your husband makes $2500/month and your only debt is $380 that is pretty good at only about 15%.

The general rule is that your house debt should not be more then 28% of your income. If you include additional debt like credit cards or car loans your debt to income should not be more then 36%.

Some loans like FHA loans may fund a loan with a buyer that has more then 36% debt to income ratio; however these loans require a higher credit score and may charge a higher percentage rate then conventional loans.