Baseball 1 asked in SportsBaseball · 1 decade ago

timing play in baseball?

Runners on first and third. Runner on first off with the pitch. Fly ball to left field and runner on third leaves after the catch and is safe at home. Runner on second, who was off with the pitch, does not re-tag first base. Defense throws the ball to first for the third out. Does the runner score?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • br549
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Maybe-------maybe not!

    This was not a force play at first base, therefore all action prior to the out stands. If the appeal play (and yes, this is a live ball appeal) were completed BEFORE the runner from third reaches home then the run would not count. If the runner from third reaches before the out then score the run.

    Also, if the third out was at first, and the runner from third had left before the fielder first touched the fly ball, then an appeal (either live ball, or dead ball) could be made for the fourth out, and thus negate the run!

    Ain't baseball fun?

  • 1 decade ago

    If the runner from third touches home prior to the appeal at first being sustained the run counts. Simple time play spelled out in the casebook (italics) of the Official Baseball rules.

    It is not a force play at first as the only base the runner from first could be forced out at is second.

    Source(s): OHSAA umpire 1989-2006 MiLB umpire 1997-99
  • ?
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago

    "Run doesn't score, if the last out is force out, the runner can score 3 hours before the play, but as soon as the last out is a force out, the run doesn't count. No run."

    The situation described in the question is not a forve play, it's an appeal play. The run scores. There can be no force out at 1B, ever.

    RULE 2 DEFINITIONS A FORCE PLAY is a play in which a runner legally loses his right to occupy a base by reason of the batter becoming a runner. Confusion regarding this play is removed by remembering that frequently the "force" situation is removed during the play. Example: Man on first, one out, ball hit sharply to first baseman who touches the bag and batter runner is out. The force is removed at that moment and runner advancing to second must be tagged. If there had been a runner on third or second, and either of these runners scored before the tag out at second, the run counts. Had the first baseman thrown to second and the ball then had been returned to first, the play at second was a force out, making two outs, and the return throw to first ahead of the runner would have made three outs. In that case, no run would score. Example: Not a force out. One out. Runner on first and third. Batter flies out. Two out. Runner on third tags up and scores. Runner on first tries to retouch before throw from fielder reaches first baseman, but does not get back in time and is out. Three outs. If, in umpire's judgment, the runner from third touched home before the ball was held at first base, the run counts.

    If you don't know an answer, stay away.

    Bob

    Source(s): Official Baseball Rules
  • 1 decade ago

    Run doesn't score, if the last out is force out, the runner can score 3 hours before the play, but as soon as the last out is a force out, the run doesn't count. No run.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    It's not as hard as that guy makes it. Yes the runner scores. There you have it.

  • 1 decade ago

    yes it was before out and out had nothing to do with him

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.