Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetSoftware · 1 decade ago

How do i remove the remainder of the Winifighter?

A few days ago i fell into the trap of downloading the the trial version of WiniFighter. I decided to uninstall it because i thought i didn't need it anymore.(at the time i didn't know it was spy ware yet) I uninstalled it successfully, but then a red shield with an x on it, which was named "Spyware Alert" suddenly popped up in the bottom right of my screen saying i had been infected and needed to register WiniFighter.Then two pop-ups named "Security Center Alert" appeared on the bottom RHS & LHS of my screen.

I googled the program up and looked for how to remove it. I have tried everything from spyware doctor, malwarebytes anti maleware, advanced system protector and other virus softwares. Most of the softwares either didn't open, or didn't pick up the infection.

I then tried to manually remove even though i am no computer techie.

I followed all the step by step tutorials. The first time i tried it, the red shield suddenly disappeared and so did the pop ups, i thought i fixed it! Though when i restarted my computer, immediately the first thing that popped up was the fake security center, the red shield with an x on it, and the pop ups.

I didnt know what to do anymore, so i just tried to ignore it. While i ignored it, this loud sound starting going off for about 20 seconds with a message attached to it saying i had to close all programs and get a anti-virus program to lower my threat of infection. So, i clicked on close all programs and once again the pops up and fake security center were gone. Though after a while, the pops up appeared again, and the default sound of the red shield went off, BUT there was no red shield and the bottom right of the screen anymore.