How do I get involved in scientific research?

I am a rising HIGH SCHOOL sophomore looking to get involved in scientific research and maybe submit a paper and go to ISEF. Please help me!!! Point me in the right direction!! I'm lost!!! How do i get a mentor???!! can i research what i want or what my mentor is researching???? Where do i go from here???!!!!

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hi John: Go on the www and find your nearest university. Locate the chemistry dept, research faculty, and read through what research they're doing on their web pages. Pick out 2 or 3 and email them or better go and see them and discuss working their research lab, initially as a volunteer (there may be insurance issues so I always paid my volunteers a token $250 a month to cover beer money). Do your homework and find out what you can about the research given your limited background, and ask intelligent questions. Make clear that you don't expect to cure cancer (not in the first week at least) and you understand that you will be the gofor and may just be cleaning glassware initially, but you will have your foot in the door. By two weeks you should have established yourself as indispensable to your boss's research effort and you can demand a raise to at least $275 a month. And hopefully you're on your way to the most satisfying career there is: pursuing new knowledge. Oh yes, google Michael Faraday (one of the all time great scientists) and see how he began!

Best wishes for a bright future. dr p

• Login to reply the answers
  • 4 years ago