Help me please! How do I get involved in scientific research?

I am a rising HIGH SCHOOL sophomore looking to get involved in scientific research and maybe submit a paper and go to ISEF. Please help me!!! Point me in the right direction!! I'm lost!!! How do i get a mentor???!! can i research what i want or what my mentor is researching???? Where do i go from here???!!!!

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

I actually went this year (I'm a freshman) and I did scientific research at a lab, and I'm working on a project next year for ISEF, and again in a lab (but in a different professor.) Both my parents are NOT scientists or doctors or have connections.

First, decide a general interest, very general, such as physics, chemistry or biology. But don't close all other options after that. I found my topic (nanotechnology) through complete accident and through the slightest of chances.

Ask your teachers, definitely. They will definitely try to find someone. Unfortunately, my teacher contacted someone and no one was doing nanotechnology at that university.

So what did I do? I called professors at a different universities. I asked if I could meet with them, talk to them, explain to them my goals and interests, and see if they can help me. I ended up with a great mentor. It's all about initiative- if you aren't willing to call up to find a mentor, how are you going to do a project with him?

By the way, to do a project for ISEF at a lab you need form 1C, and there's a section where the professors have to write everything you did- so if you say to the judges you made a new solar cell, but on the form it says you only measured voltage, you will get in some trouble!

Anyways, once you have a mentor, he or she will DEFINITELY help you find what you want to work on.