Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Advice please! Is this typical for university classes?

I am a freshman enrolling this fall at UCLA

I am currently studying in a community college class

I am history major and right now I am taking Western Civilization class

I want to know if what my professor is doing is typical for all college classes

For the exams he gave us, he never told us clearly where does his exam covers, what he told us was very ambiguous

For example

quote "your final will be everything through the Catholic Church Counter Reformation"

well, the problem with this is

first, the four words, Catholic Church Counter Reformation is neither a chapter name, a section name, nor a sub section name. I searched hardly and finally saw the words that is a part of paragraph end of chapter 14, and also chapter 15 [maybe a referrence, which is of no importance]. so i vaguely knew it is somewhere of chapter 14-15.

second, somehow he didn't cover chapter 13, jumped from 12 directly to 14, didn't mention anything about 13. When I asked him about it, he repeated what he said before, "your final will be everything through the Catholic Church Counter Reformation". i asked him three times in different ways and instead of giving a straight answer of yes and no, he just said the same thing that i am confused with.

the book does not have a clear chronological order, more like, for example, talk France 800-1000, then jump back to Germany 600. So chapter 13 covers an era both before and after the Catholic Church Counter Reformation.