What are the current 41 countries in Europe?

What are the current 41 countries in Europe?


I looked on google but I couldn't find any consistent answers, they were all different & the question only asked for 41

11 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    If the question only asked for 41, then the question is WRONG ....

    - or at least woefully out of date. When was the question written? If it was before the breakup of the Soviet Union, then it is off by 7. If it was written before the breakup of Yugoslavia, it is off by 6. (Kosovo became an independent country only 17 months ago.) If it was written before Czechoslovakia broke into the Czech Republic and Slovakia it is off by 1.

    You asked for the CURRENT countries of Europe - as of 20 July, 2009. You asked in the Geography category, so the answers will be based upon a country's geography alone. It has no relationship with the European Union, or the Schengen Treaty, or the European Broadcasting Union, or the International Federation of Association Football.

    You got a very thorough answer - with authoritative sources. Here it is again:

    The geographical boundaries of Europe aren't totally agreed upon - not precisely; especially the border in the trans-Caucasus region. As closely as can be measured, by the internationally agreed borders, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, and Turkey have portions in Europe as well as Asia. Armenia and Georgia do not; they are in Asia only. (Some disagree with this last; none are geographers) Also, Cyprus, Iceland, and Malta are considered a part of Europe even though they are some distance from the European mainland.

    Thus, there are 48 sovereign states in Europe:

    1. Albania

    2. Andorra

    3. Austria

    4. Azerbaijan

    5. Belarus

    6. Belgium

    7. Bosnia and Herzegovina

    8. Bulgaria

    9. Croatia

    10. Cyprus

    11. Czech Republic

    12. Denmark

    13. Estonia

    14. Finland

    15. France

    16. Germany

    17. Greece

    18. Hungary

    19. Iceland

    20. Republic of Ireland

    21. Italy

    22. Kazakhstan

    23. Latvia

    24. Liechtenstein

    25. Lithuania

    26. Luxembourg

    27. Macedonia

    28. Malta

    29. Moldova

    30. Montenegro

    31. Monaco

    32. Netherlands

    33. Norway

    34. Poland

    35. Portugal

    36. Romania

    37. Russia

    38. San Marino

    39. Serbia

    40. Slovakia

    41. Slovenia

    42. Spain

    43. Sweden

    44. Switzerland

    45. Turkey

    46. Ukraine

    47. United Kingdom

    48. Vatican City

    There are 4 Partially recognised republics, territories and regions. They have partial diplomatic recognition by one or more sovereign states and are defined as 'states' by the declarative theory of statehood. (Number of countries recognizing the country in parentheses)

    1. Abkhazia (2)

    2. Kosovo (62)

    3. Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (1)

    4. South Osettia (2)

    There are 3 unrecognised republics, territories and regions. They lack diplomatic recognition, yet are defined as 'states' by the declarative theory of statehood.

    1. Nagorno-Karabakh

    2. Transnistria

    3. Sealand

    I'm sorry if this is more than your question asked for, but I am not in a position to request that 7 of the current existing countries cease to exist, or for the internationally-agreed-to continental boundaries be moved. Tell the writer of the question to just suck it up and deal with it.

  • 1 decade ago

    1. Albania

    2. Andorra

    3. Austria

    4. Belarus

    5. Belgium

    6. Bosnia & Hercegovina

    7. Bulgaria

    8. Croatia

    9. Cryprus

    10. Czech Republic

    11. Denmark

    12. Estonia

    13. Finland

    14. France

    15. Germany

    16. Gibraltar

    17. Great Britian

    18. Greece

    19. Hungary

    20. Iceland

    21. Ireland

    22. Italy

    23. Latvia

    24. Liechtenstein

    25. Lithuania

    26. Luxemberg

    27. Macedonia

    28. Malta

    29. Moldova

    30. Monaco

    31. Netherlands

    32. Norway

    33. Poland

    34. Portugal

    35. Romonia

    36. Russia

    37. San Marino

    38. Scotland (GB)

    39. Slovakia

    40. Slovenia

    41. Spain

    There are actually more than 41 countries in Europe, but you only asked for 41, so I gave you 41.

  • Elise
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago

    If the question indicates there are only 41 countries in Europe, it's wrong. The best resource for this is the European Commission's web site, which lists 49 countries. Even if you leave out some of the more controversial (as to whether they are in Europe or Asia) countries, there are still more than 41. Someone already gave you the link, but I thought I'd just back them up.


  • Gina
    Lv 4
    4 years ago

    Not particularly. Generally Eastern Europe has been less prosperous than Western Europe and in recent times it was probably Western Europe who lead the way in exploration etc (e.g. British Empire) but you can't forget that a lot of Europes most successful civilisations were Southern European (for example Ancient Greeks and the Roman Empire) so the African genes can't be 'hurting' them that much as you said. And to be honest, Eastern Europe's main problem was communism, it's not like they're stupid or anything.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago


    Scroll down the page and you should find all 41 countries as well as territories in Europe.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago






    Bosnia and Herzegovina




    Czech Republic

























    San Marino

    Serbia and Montenegro

    Slovakia (Slovak Republic)







    United Kingdom

    Vatican City

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago


    I don't get it. It's easier to do a Google search and get the answer than it is to ask in Yahoo....

  • 1 decade ago

    You have got to be kidding! If you didn't study for your test, take your medicine and stop cheating.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago


    check on google

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.