Frances asked in SportsWater Sports · 1 decade ago

I love Kayaking! What boat is best for me?

I am female. 5'8, 130 lbs. Looking to do mostly flat, calm water in a sit in style kayak. Going to be searching craigslist and the likes.as I'm new to kayaking and only want to spend about $300.

Update:

Sorry forgot to mention. Not an inflatable and not a sit on top. I'd prefer a sit in, something with a little storage area..

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

In the price range of $300 you won't really be able to be picky about what make and model you prefer. Kayaks are wildly popular everywhere and anything used but decent for sale at less than $400 gets snapped up quickly on craigslist (I should know -- I snagged 3 of my 4 boats on there.) You can do it but you have to look every day and then act fast. When you see a used boat for sale, go to the "reviews" section of http://www.paddling,net/ and you'll be able to find out all about that model of kayak before you decide if it might be one you want. I did find a Dagger Magellan plastic sea kayak on CL with a rudder for $400 (a $1200 boat originally) but it was a little rough. Around here, anything under $300 tends to be those chunky little whitewater boats (you don't want those) or clunky and heavy discount store specials.