Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Home & GardenGarden & Landscape · 1 decade ago

Sod or Seed in Hot weather?

I have some very patchy places in my back yard and a big area that is completely dirt. I really need to get grass back there because we have 2 puppies that like to play in the mud/dirt. I was going to fence these areas off and try to get some grass to grow, but I live in Oklahoma and it is very hot. It's been in the high 90s and low 100's.

If I give sod or seed enough water, can I get it to grow in these temperatures? Will seed or sod do better in the heat?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Sod would do better because it's already established. However, there are so many other things to take into consideration. First, I'm not a professional but summer isn't the optimal time to do sod or seed. It's so hot and so dry; it will be an uphill battle the whole way. Secondly, you have to make sure you have the correct seed/sod for your area and conditions and that you are placing it in good, quality soil. If you have hard packed poor dirt you're pretty much wasting your money on either sod or seed. You may need to aerate or supplement your yard with better soil before you start seeding or laying sod.