so who is completely sick and tired of people throwing mcgavock out of proportion?

i graduated last may from this wonderful school, and even though i'm no longer a student there, it still takes a toll on my nerves to see that media bashes us to the point that parents refuse to let their children enter the school.

McGavock is the largest high school in TN, and therefore, has a large population of students AND staff. So there are bound to be disagreements and fights, just like every other school. Half the fights that are posted online are staged. Students do projects that require filming. I have done plenty of projects with the drama department that have fights. The media and news know that the fights are staged, and if you were to look at the fights online yourselves, it shows that it was staged. Obviously the media twisted everything because they needed something interesting so their ratings would go up.

There a lot of kids who are suspended, even the good ones. I have been suspended a few times. Over half the students in iss or oss are just out of dress code. That is not the school's fault. There are people that can't afford the very strict guidelines of the dress code. Some didn't even know about upon entering the school, considering we get at least 3 new students everyday.