Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetHardwareLaptops & Notebooks · 1 decade ago

Is the customer service at Dell really that bad? What laptop should I choose? (Design student)?

I'm a Communication Design student going into the second year of UNT's 4 year program. It is now required that we have our own laptop to bring to class, and I am pulling my hair out trying to earn enough money to get a nice one by the end of the summer.

I need the laptop to last for 4 years, because I know after graduation I will not have enough money for a new one right off.

I had my heart set on a 17-inch Dell Studio laptop for months. Customized with the Design Studio cover, maxed out processor, 4 gigs of RAM, the whole bit. The price of the system before tax comes to around $1500. Recently I began reading user reviews on CNET and similar sites, and the reviews for these laptops are atrocious. Ranging from crap computers to terrible and time-wasting service, I'm definitely on guard now.

I have three options:

I can buy the Studio laptop.

*I love the included numberpad

*Much better customization options

*Larger screen

*Not a Mac OS

*I already have Adobe CS3 for PC

I can buy a 13" Macbook Pro with the 2.53 GHz processor, 4 gigs of RAM and Applecare

*More portability

*I already have a 19" monitor I can hook it up to make up for the diminished screen size

*Seems much more reliable

*I could get a free 8 GB iPod touch, then sell it on craigslist for about $200 which would essentially cover the cost of the care plan.

*Having a computer that actually has Helvetica on it would be nice.