How can something go on your bookmarks on your computer without you putting it there?

no one else uses this computer, and there was a porn site bookmarked. disgusting.!!

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    These actions can arise from 3rd party cookies, or webpage 'assets' (requested by your browser) as you surf around.

    Try malwarebytes to start cleaning up your system:

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/Malwarebytes_Anti-Malwar...

    ('System Restore' may have to be turned off for effective cleaning).

    Take proactive defensive measures help stop these guys on your doorstep and keep 'em out. The following tips help, but methods (vectors) constantly change.*

    ****************

    FIREFOX: Tools> Options> Privacy: Check 'Accept Cookies from sites'

    & Un-Check 'Accept 3rd Party cookies'

    With these add-on's:

    ♦♦♦"NoScript" for Firefox will stop a lot of this adware/spyware & hijackers; and is THE single most important thing you can do to prevent most script based malware♦♦♦

    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/722

    With "NS" running, down on the far right corner is a blue 'S' with a red line through it: right click that> tick 'forbid (whatever)' &/or mark as 'untrusted'.

    (Ticking all may reduce interactive behavior; enable just enough to get what's necessary to view the page, on a 'temporarily allow' basis)

    Flashblock: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/433

    Adblock Plus works pretty good too: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/186... (make sure to utilize the 'Subscriptions' from ABP 'Preferences' tab & look in ABP > Preferences> Filters> Add filter subscription> "View All Subscriptions" link @ top of window> (on the new window, select those which you'd like to add)> follow prompts.

    The list is long...look for any that will help your browse sessions be 'cleaner'.

    *Fresh exploit: "Super Cookie" threat (or Persistent 3rd party cookie); https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/662...

    **********

    INTERNET EXPLORER: Tools> Internet Options> Privacy> Advanced:

    here check 'Override automatic....'; 'Allow session cookies'; 'Allow 1st party cookies' & 'Block 3rd Party Cookies'.

    Using IE (all flavors) and allowing "active scripting" is the single biggest mistake people make. "Drive by installs", "Opacity based attacks", and many other malware problems arise from this feature alone.

    **********

    Rouge malware and escalating server based spyware are becoming indistinguishable & may cause system misbehavior .

    Requires "Opt Out" on EVERY browser on EVERY machine.

    Google here: http://www.google.com/privacy_ads.html

    Yahoo here: http://info.yahoo.com/relevantads/

    Turn off 'spell check' may help, as this sends keystrokes back to the server also, which may be used to 'target' advertising.

    When installing ANY new application, check the EULA or TOS for 'Toolbars' and/or other crud they try to slip past ya'.

    Good luck. ;)

  • 4 years ago

    No, a new user wouldn't be able to access information from the previous hard drive, BUT if nobody accessed the computer after you removed the hard drive, some data might remain in the RAM. It is SOMETIMES possible for professionals to access this information, but as soon as the computer is booted with a new hard drive, that data is overwritten. So unless you were hiding government secrets in your hard drive and the CIA wants to prove it after you've destroyed said drive, all your data remains completely safe.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.