treasure asked in Social ScienceSociology · 1 decade ago

Worried to take class that includes public speaking?

I'm enrolled in a college Sociology class that begins next month and i'm absolutely terrified! The syllabus states students are required to participate every class. We also have to do several show and tell activities. I'm so nervous because i'm very shy and i'm not very good at pubic speaking. I have to take the class because the date to drop and receive a refund has passed. Does anyone have any tips on how I can overcome my shyness with public speaking? Thanks

12 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

Diagnose Your Level of Shyness. Are you so shy that you're petrified to talk to anyone? Or are you only shy around people you don't know? It may be beneficial to ask friends their opinions.

Consider: What Do You Want to Change and Why? Are you bothered by a lack of social skills, not knowing how to have superficial conversations, how to show your feelings, awkward pauses in conversations, and other practical problems? Or do you manage to come across normal and sociable enough, but wish you didn't feel uncomfortable and insecure? And ask yourself how much you really want to change. Not everyone is or needs to be extroverted, lively and wild. Don't compare yourself to people who are your total opposite, or tell yourself that you should be like them. This only makes you feel like you are different and alone, or even inferior, when in fact everyone is somewhere on a continuum of shyness or introversion.

Put Yourself Out There. This may seem obvious but the best way to meet people is to be in an environment where you can meet people. Go to the Fall Dance at your school and try to meet at least one person by the end of the night.