Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinancePersonal Finance · 1 decade ago

What are the advantages of using a mortgage loan modification company over doing it yourself?

My payments are unsustainable and I need to deal with it or I'll be dealing with a foreclosure soon.

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

Hey Niel,

First and foremost let me advise you that I know what I am talking about. I worked directly for Countrywide Home Loans in the Customer Service department and loss mitigation (the department that handles your inquiries, and the department that handles loan modifications). After that I worked as a loan officer for that company for three years. Following that I was laid off and continued to do home loans for local brokers, then now I work with an attorney's office and do loan modifications. What I'm trying to say is, I know what I am talking about.

One thing I can say is this, do NOT listen to the guy who posted the first comment. Doing nothing is the worst advice you can possibly get. I'm going to try to explain the differences (This might be lengthy and would be way easier to do over the phone but here goes, I'll try to keep it short).

You could elect to do the modification yourself, however you as a consumer do not really know what you are doing. The bank is not your friend and in the end is still looking after it's profit margin. They will guide you through the process and ask for your financial information like they would for a refinance and ask you to submit a hardship letter. From that they would come back to you with an offer if you qualified (after months usually, by the way). At that point they usually say take it or leave it, and rarely do any further negotiation. I usually put it like this....if you wanted to see if you qualified for an additional tax deduction, would you go to a CPA, or would you go the the IRS directly? ....you get the picture.