How to read guitar chord names?

I'm a pianist trying to read notations for guitar chords. Chords like Asus2, Asus2/F#, Dsus2, Bmadd11, are totally puzzling to me. What do "sus", "add" mean? Is there any website I can go to, to find out these things?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

The abbreviation, sus, means sustain; that is, place emphasis on that particular note needing to be sustained. In example, Csus4 simply directs the player to press down the F note directly above Middle C (on the guitar) because F is the fourth note on the diatonic scale of C. (It's the F note found in the first space of the treble clef.) (Another note: Middle C on the guitar is one full octave below that of the piano's Middle C, hence my statement of the F note being in the first space of the treble clef.)

The Asus2/F# chord tells us to play a B note (the sustained 2nd note) with an A chord, but also include its natural sixth note (F#) as the bass.

The chord, Bm add 11 simply means to add the 11th note of the Bm scale, which is the note of E to your chord formation.

Here is a striking chord that could be played just before playing a D major: Dsus2#5. Simply play a D, a Bb, another D, and an E.

Note: Look for those small, quick incidental notes on the grand staff; they should be those sustained notes or added notes to the chord mentioned.

Note: I stand corrected by Left-T. Such a note described as "sus" means 'suspension' as my music dictionary describes. It is a term used in harmony to describe a note in a chord that is held while another note that forms a discord with it is sounded. I had termed such a note as sustained because it always rings out in discord with the formed chord.

Source(s): Guitar picker of 52 years
  • 4 years ago

Guitar Chord Names

• Left-T
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago

I will add to Guitarplayer's answer......You can go to this website

http://www.chordbook.com/guitarchords.php

http://www.myguitarworkshop.com/Guitar_Chords.htm