Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceStudying Abroad · 1 decade ago

Host family for foreign exchange students...?

I'm looking into opening my home to foreign exchange students. Anyone already have experience as a host family, or know of someone who does?

What is it like, what can I expect?

1 Answer

Relevance
  • Feisty
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I've been hosting for 15 years -- with 13 great experiences. Pretty good odds.

The first thing is to go with a reliable organization with a good local support system. I recommend YFU or AFS. Rotary is also good, but I don't know if you have to be in Rotary to host their students.

If your school is still open, contact your local high school. It may be too late to sign up for this year. Some schools have a spring deadline for incoming fall students. Also ask the counselors what organizations they recommend. The organizations are not through the schools, but the counselors usually know who the local people are.

If you find out you can still host, call the local rep if one was recommended. If not, go to the websites (listed below) and fill out the application.

Generally speaking, anyone can host -- but if you are a single parent with no kids you may have to host a student of your gender. There are no financial requirements other than you can afford to feed and house the student. Exchange students come fully insured, to include medical, and are expected to pay all of their own school, sports and personal expenses.

What we generally say is if you go out to dinner and a movie as a family, you pay for the student. If he or she is going out with their friends, they pay. You should also make sure you celebrate their birthday and include them at Christmas (or other holidays).