Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentPolitics · 1 decade ago

What do you think about the FDA regulating tobacco?

Personally I think it's a good idea....and here's why.

The FDA regulates every other consumer product on the market, except tobacco. You can't buy a candybar without the FDA making sure it is safe. So why should tobacco be an exception ?... nobody knows what they put on the tobacco before they package it.

Smoking cigarettes might not even be that bad for you, if they didn't spray a bunch of carcinogenic chemicals on the tobacco as it rolls down the conveyer belt....

This is an issue of public safety, no matter how you look at it....

The tobacco lobby has been too powerful for too long, and has put down every effort to get them to disclose what they put into cigarettes.

Without FDA oversight, everyone is smoking a big question mark.... "?".

I've been smoking who knows what for 15 years now....i'm curious to know what i've been inhaling besides tobacco smoke all this time.

Update:

Quiting is hard...probably the hardest thing i've ever tried to do....

I enjoy smoking, which makes it more difficult...and i'll be the first to admit i'm an addict. So don't think i'm some non-smoker who just wants to lecture everyone.

I don't think they should outlaw tobacco, or any other "plant" for that matter,....but when you sell something as a consumer product, public safety should be our legislators first concern.

Update 2:

All i'm advocating here people, is a list of ingredients....

You have ingredients listed on your cereal box don't you ????

Update 3:

Again people... read the damn question...

I NEVER SAID THE WORD BAN....

Update 4:

To: "legal doesn't make it right"

Interesting that you are against the FDA regulating tobacco, but at the same time you have a problem with KRAFT mac'n cheese ingredients....... Kraft is a Phillip Morris company...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kraft_Foods

34 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago