Is hotmail considered a professional email service?

I have to create a professional email account and my name is VERY common. Gmail doesn't have any usernames available with my full name WITHOUT numbers behind it. Hotmail has some available with my full name but I feel it isn't very professional compared to Gmail. My school email address will expire sometime this summer because I graduated.

24 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Hotmail, Gmail or Yahoo are all the same when it comes to being non-professional. One of the biggest reasons for that is they are all FREE.

Depends what you want to use your email for. Usually you will get an email with your cable or DSL internet service. Those are still considered more professional than the free ones.

But if you want a really professional email, you should register a domain name, for example: www.yourbusinessname.com, and you can then create an email that will say, for example: john@yourbusinessname.com. You can register domain names for really cheap these days, like $10 a year.

It doesn't get any more professional than that.

• Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    3 years ago

Hotmail Customer Support@+1^800^782^3911

Attachment image
  • 6 years ago

Yes it is. Hotmail, Yahoo, Gmail etc all these are considered as a professional services. All these professional email services are free. There are no. of user are taking the advantages of this professional email services all over the world.

• rtfm
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago

The last office I worked in actually filtered out mail from Hotmail addresses. It's not considered professional at all.

The only Web-based mail that I'd recommend as being somewhat professional is gmail. Try using your middle initial, or your first initial instead of your name, or your full first plus middle name -- there ought to be some combination you can come up with that still looks businesslike.

• User14 years agoReport