Can a student attend a public school outside of their district?

Hello, yes, i am a student in high school.

This year's freshman year has ended.

And over summer i'm looking for a new school to attend.

This year, I attended private school, and have been since i was in pre-K!

and i'm pretty set on going to public school! (anyone's thought on that?)

And so i was wondering if there is any possible way a student could attend a public school outside of their district/town?

I could REALLY use some help!

so, thanks a bunches!!! : )

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

In some areas you can. Look at the school district's website of the school you wish to attend. See about district permits / transfers. If there isn't info on the website, call. Some school districts only allow permits if your parent works in the district, for the district, or for the city. Usually you will have to get an OK from your home district, since they will be losing money by you going to another district, but usually that isn't a problem, it's more a problem getting an OK from the out of area district. They might not feel very sympathetic toward you since you're coming from a private school, unless you'll add something like diversity or are a fantastic athlete they need, etc.

Be sure to visit the public school to see if it's the right fit for you, especially since you've been attending private school. Also, consider if it might make a difference for college. Make sure you can get the classes you need at the new school to add to the credits you have to meet college requirements. (Example - Some top college prefer (require) 4 years in high school of one foreign language. If you were taking French and they don't have French at the public school and your first choice college wants 4 years -- that might be a problem.)