How long does it take to master Web Programming (PHP)?.?

Currently i'm interested in web programming. I'm still a beginner and just wondering how long does it take to completely master web programming namely PHP??

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Bob M
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Learning PHP language is easy, the syntax is simple.

Learning what libs are available, how to use them and how to install modules, is a little more difficult, but only realy a matter of practicing it until it becomes second nature.

There are libs you will use every time, others that you use rarely. Then as you go along you will find some libs that make the mundane much easier, so you will add these to your regular libs.

So learning PHP will be quick, the more you practice the easier it becomes. Mastering any language is a different matter. It still comes from practice, but you must add to that a great understanding of turning real world problems into coded solutions.

Some take to it very easily, others struggle with this side. All I can say is that the more you practice the sooner you get there.

Can I suggest a nice easy real world practice arena? This allows you to practice on your own PC, whether Linux or Windows, the environment is the same as a client PC and web host.

Get and install VirtualBox - http://www.virtualbox.org

Get Debian (you could use another Linux, but make it a Linux not Windows) The reason I reccomend Debian is because it is a nice clean clutter free Linux distro - http://www.debian.org/

The only real difference to the standard install is once it is installed, on the VirtualBox settings for this machine, change the network to 'bridged', this lets you see your web pages on your Windows (or other) client.

Get the one click install for Postgresql - http://www.postgresql.org/download/linux