Requesting VFR Flight Following?

I'm a student pilot and a little confused about something.... Who do I initially contact and request flight following from? Is it the tower at the airfield I just departed from? If there is no controlled tower, who do I contact initially and where do I look for that frequency?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

It does depend on the airport you are leaving in regards to whom you request flight following from.

For instance, I operate out of a non-towered field. Upon departing and clearing the area, I switch from CTAF to the approach frequency that overlays my home base. The same is true for any non-towered field. Your AFD will have an approach/departure frequency for the Class E or Class G airspace around the airport and you are to contact that controller. You can request flight following on the ground before you take off but I have always contacted the controller in the air as I need to report my position on CTAF anyway.

If you are at a towered field (Class D, C or B) then you have two options. Request flight following from the tower controller and that controller can pass on your message to the appropiate departure controller. This works primarily at Class C and B airports as there is a closer knit communication between tower and approach at these busier fields. You can also request traffic advisories once handed off to the departure controller the same as you would leaving a non-towered field.

Your AFD is a great resource to prepare for this situation.

Source(s): - Private Pilot training for Instrument Rating
    • Login to reply the answers
  • Joe D
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

At an airport with an operating control tower (i.e., during operating hours), you can request FF from ground control before taxiing.