SmooveB asked in Politics & GovernmentPolitics · 1 decade ago

Why did Obama's Justice Department drop charges against three men who violated the Voting Rights Act?

"The career Justice lawyers were on the verge of securing sanctions against the men earlier this month when their superiors ordered them to reverse course, according to interviews and documents."

http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2009/may/29/ca...

Update:

c.n. I am not a "young man"-I have been practicing law for 16 years. The government was about to obtain a default judgment against the black panthers, which means the case was a slam dunk; the defendants didn't even respond to the complaint. There is a video of their flagrant acts.

A witness said: "In my opinion, the men created an intimidating presence at the entrance to a poll," he declared. "In all my experience in politics, in civil rights litigation and in my efforts in the 1960s to secure the right to vote in Mississippi ... I have never encountered or heard of another instance in the United States where armed and uniformed men blocked the entrance to a polling location."

21 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

Fox News reported of one member doing the same thing in the New York area on election day. But hearing BO is dropping the charges against such people comes as no surprise. He's still very good friends with such people as Fred Hampton. Yet, Obama's followers still believe for the "just because" sake that Obama said so that people Louis Farrakhan and Jeremiah Wright "never" influence him in the decisions he makes today. Really, who's kidding whom?

This really goes back to the comparison made between Obama and David Duke. If Obama was white, he would have never made it to the White House. He is in word and deed David Duke in a different color.

• Karen
    Lv 4
    4 years ago