Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Pregnancy & ParentingPregnancy · 1 decade ago

my period is 4 days late and i took a pregnancy test this afternoon it was negative?

i took a HPT today from boots at about 5.30pm and it came out negative. i am now in day 32 of my cycle, my cycles have never been longer than 30 days and are usually 28-29 days long.

i am quite worried i could be pregnant even though i had a negative test result because i read in other places that people have had false negatives even when their period was overdue (i didnt do it in the morning!)

i have been using natural family planning for a few months now (the standard days method) but i have also used the pull-out method on the "unsafe days". im worried maybe i got pregnant during those days or maybe i ovulated late this month making my cycle longer, which is bad too because if i go into day 33 of my cycle the standard days method is completely worthless.

i dont know what to do im really confused should i take another test or wait? and if it turns out im not pregnant do i go and see the doctor about being late or just wait for it to come?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

Wow, I feel a duty to answer this question to respond to some of the ignorant answers on here.

First of all, yes, you absolutely could tell if you are pregnant by taking a home pregnancy test around the time that you expected your period. The egg & sperm meet within a day of ovulation and implantation takes place around 5-7 days later. When implantation happens, it triggers the body to produce hcg, which is the hormone tested by a home pregnancy test.