Mike C asked in Arts & HumanitiesHistory · 1 decade ago

Who were some influential political leaders of the 1950s?

i need to know who some political leaders were.

2 Answers

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer


    * Egypt -

    o Monarch - Farouk I, King of Egypt (1936-1952)

    o Prime Minister -

    1. Hussein Sirri Pasha, Prime Minister of Egypt (1949-1950)

    2. Mustafa el-Nahhas, Prime Minister of Egypt (1950-1952)

    * Ethiopia -

    o Monarch - Haile Selassie I, Emperor of Ethiopia (1941-1974)

    o Prime Minister - Makonnen Endelkachew, Prime Minister of Ethiopia (1942-1957)

    * Liberia - William V.S. Tubman, President of Liberia (1944-1971)

    * South Africa

    o Monarch - George VI, King of South Africa (1936-1952)

    o Governor-General - Gideon Brand van Zyl, Governor-General of South Africa (1946-1951)

    o Prime Minister - Daniel François Malan, Prime Minister of South Africa (1948-1954)


    * Afghanistan

    o Monarch - Mohammed Zahir Shah, King of Afghanistan (1933-1973)

    o Prime Minister - Sardar Shah Mahmud Khan, Prime Minister of Afghanistan (1946-1953)

    * Bhutan - Jigme Wangchuck, King of Bhutan (1926-1952)

    * Brunei (British protectorate)

    o British Resident - Eric Ernest Falk Pretty (1948-1951)

    o Sultan -

    1. Ahmad Tajuddin, Sultan of Brunei (1924–1950)

    2. Omar Ali Saifuddin III, Sultan of Brunei (1950–1967)

    o Chief Minister - Omar Ali Saifuddin III, Chief Minister of Brunei (1947-1959)

    * Burma -

    o President - Sao Shwe Thaik, President of Burma (1948-1952)

    o Prime Minister - U Nu, Prime Minister of Burma (1948-1956)

    * Ceylon-

    o Monarch - George VI, King of Ceylon (1948-1952)

    o Governor-General - Herwald Ramsbotham, 1st Viscount Soulbury, Governor-General of Ceylon (1949-1954)

    o Prime Minister - Don Stephen Senanayake, Prime Minister of Ceylon (1947-1952)

    * People's Republic of China

    o Head of Communist Party - Mao Zedong, Chairman of the Communist Party of China (1935-1976)

    o President - Mao Zedong, Chairman of the Central People's Government (1949-1954)

    o Premier - Zhou Enlai, Premier of the State Council (1949-1976)

    * India -

    o Dominion of India -

    + Monarch - George VI, King of India (1947-1950)

    + Governor-General - Chakravarti Rajagopalachari, Governor-General of India (1948-1950)

    + Prime Minister - Jawaharlal Nehru, Prime Minister of India (1947-1964)

    o Republic of India -

    + President - Rajendra Prasad, President of India (1950-1962)

    + Prime Minister - Jawaharlal Nehru, Prime Minister of India (1947-1964)

    * Indonesia -

    o President - Sukarno, President of Indonesia (1945–1967)

    o Prime Minister -

    1. Mohammad Hatta, Prime Minister of Indonesia (1948-1950)

    2. Abdul Halim, Prime Minister of Indonesia (1950)

    3. Muhammad Natsir, Prime Minister of Indonesia (1950-1951)

    * Iran -

    o Monarch - Mohammad Reza Pahlavi, Shah of Iran (1941-1979)

    o Prime Minister -

    1. Mohammad Sa'ed, Prime Minister of Iran (1948-1950)

    2. Ali Mansur, Prime Minister of Iran (1950)

    3. Haj Ali Razmara, Prime Minister of Iran (1950-1951)

    * Iraq -

    o Monarch - Faisal II, King of Iraq (1939-1958)

    o Prime Minister -

    1. Ali Jawdat al-Aiyubi, Prime Minister of Iraq (1949-1950)

    2. Tawfiq al-Suwaidi, Prime Minister of Iraq (1950)

    3. Nuri as-Said, Prime Minister of Iraq (1950-1952)

    * Israel -

    o President - Chaim Weizmann, President of Israel (1949-1952)

    o Prime Minister - David Ben-Gurion, Prime Minister of Israel (1948-1953)

    * Japan -

    o Monarch - Showa Emperor, Emperor of Japan (1926-1989)

    o Prime Minister - Shigeru Yoshida, Prime Minister of Japan (1948-1954)

    * Jordan -

    o Monarch - Abdullah I, King of Jordan (1949-1951)

    o Prime Minister -

    1. Tawfik Abu al-Huda, Prime Minister of Jordan (1947-1950)

    2. Sa`id al-Mufti, Prime Minister of Jordan (1950)

    3. Samir al-Rifai, Prime Minister of Jordan (1950-1951)

    * North Korea -

    o Communist Party Leader - Kim Il-sung, General Secretary of the Workers' Party of Korea (1946-1994)

    o Head of State - Kim Tu-bong, Presidium of the Supreme People's Assembly (1948-1957)

    o Premier - Kim Il Sung, Chairmen of the Council of Ministers (1948-1972)

    * South Korea -

    o President - Syngman Rhee, President of the Republic of Korea (1948-1960)

    o Prime Minister -

    1. Yi Pom-sok, Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea (1948-1950)

    2. Shin Song-mo, Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea (1950)

    3. John Myon Chang, Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea (1950-1952)

    But the main ones were Nikita Khrushchev (was a leader of the Soviet Union, serving as General Secretary of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union from 1953 to 1964, following the death of Joseph Stalin, and Chairman of the Council of Ministers from 1958 to 1964. Khrushchev was responsible for the partial de-Stalinization of the Soviet Union, for backing the progress of the world's early space program, as well as for several relatively liberal reforms ranging from agriculture to foreign policy. Khrushchev's party colleagues removed him from power in 1964, replacing him with Leonid Brezhnev) and Kim Il Sung (was a Korean communist politician who led North Korea from its founding in 1948 until his death. He held the posts of Prime Minister from 1948 to 1972 and President from 1972 to his death. He was also the General Secretary of the Workers Party of Korea, exercising autocratic power. During his tenure as leader of North Korea, he favored his self-developed Juche idea and established a pervasive and entrenched cult of personality.[1] Following his death in 1994, he was succeeded by his son Kim Jong-il. North Korea officially refers to Kim Il-sung as the "Great Leader" and he is designated in the constitution as the country's "Eternal President". His birthday and the day of his death are public holidays in North Korea.)

    Source(s): History Lessons
    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Nikita Khrushchev (USSR) - Responsible for De-stalinization

    Kim Il-Sung - Creator of North Korea, caused the Korean War

    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.