Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceHigher Education (University +) · 1 decade ago

If I am not Good With Math, Should I Study Environmental Engineering In College?

I know all science-related degrees require math, but it seems as if this one would require less than most others.

If an Environmental Engineering degree DOES require a lot of math, which science degree would require the LEAST?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

The guy above me does not know what he is talking about. An electronics engineer? What the hell is that? Do you mean electrical engineer? Anyways, do not listen to him. I majored in environmental engineering, and I am pursuing a MS in environmental engineering at a top school.

If you think environmental engineering does not require math, then ok, but here are some examples of classes you will have to take:

-Fluid Mechanics

-Thermondynamics

-Computer Programming, Fortran or equivalent (very difficult for non computer science majors)

-Calc I, II, III

- Mechanics of Materials

-Statics

-Dynamics

-Environmental Monitoring and Statistics

-Modeling of environmental systems, surface water, ground water etc,

-Applied Hydraulics

-Hydrology

-Wastewater treatment

-Building Energy Analysis

-Solar Energy Design

-Wetland hydrology

-Contaminant Fate & Transport

and about a dozen more

EVERY single one of these classes has advanced level math, and I would suggest that you DO NOT study Engineering if you are not ready to spend the next 4-5 years working your *** off.

Environmental Science is similar to engineering, with regards to subject and topics, but MUCH easier choice for someone who doesn't understand math like yourself.

GOOD LUCK!

PS