89 Harley Sportster 883?

Ok, where to begin? So I've been into riding for the past 5 years or so and I absolutely love it. There's nothing quite like running down a mountain at 70 mph, leaning around curves, and tearing up the straights. My first bike was an '04 Kawasaki Ninja 650, and I quickly got over the crotch rocket phase and into cruisers. Right now, I'm on an '03 Suzuki Intruder (Boulevard) 805 and I love it.

Anyway, today I picked up an '89 Harley 883 for $1000 from the original owner. He wasn't sure how many miles were on it, but he said it was VERY low. It's been sitting in a shed out by his garage for 11 years. I figured I couldn't go wrong for $1000 so in a few days I'm driving down to New Jersey to pick it up.

I have big plans for this bike, but not only is this my first Harley, this is my first build bike. I don't know a whole awful lot about working on these bikes (but I'm very adept in car repair, so I figure it can't be THAT much different right?) but the first thing I'm going to do is pull the engine and replace all the gaskets and the carb. I'm also planning on doing a port and polish while I have the engine torn down and I'd like to put a much bigger carb than stock on there. So my first question is, do they sell different sized carbs for bikes, like they do for cars? i.e. can I put a 4 barrel carb on my bike?

I'm also planning on (eventually) boring the bike out to a 1200, but I thought it might be easier just to buy a brand new 1200 crate engine and drop in there. Would I have room on the 883's frame for that? And I assume I would have to fabricate some new motor mounts to be able to do this?

Another thing I'm really wanting to do is push the rake of the forks out just a little bit. I don't like the real long rakes of the choppers, but the rake on this bike is entirely too short. Am I going to need new forks to do this? I don't really know how to go about this part of the build lol.