Would this be considered a "hit and run"?

I was backing out of a space in this super tiny parking lot, and tapped this jeep parked behind me on its right corner. I got out and saw there was alittle scrape on it, and some scratches on mine. It was already a scraped up/dirty car so I thought leaving a note would kinda be ridiculous...they wouldn't even notice which thing on them was from me. Is it bad that I just left?

Update:

should i go back and see if the car is still there and leave a note?? i feel so bad now b/c a hit and run is illegal

Update 2:

how much would i have to pay, u think? i dont really have much money, im a college student.

15 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Try to be more careful the next time in parking lots but otherwise, forget about it. People get their cars damaged all the time in parking lots and it's a risk we take when parking. Also, if this was a commercial place, the road is private and therefore not subject to the laws in the manner that our public roads and highways are. Since you didn't injure anyone, this isn't a "hit and run" or "leaving the scene of an accident" in the context you are use to hearing.

• 1 decade ago

Well yes. You scraped the car which is 'hit' and you just left which is 'run'. You should have waited for the owner to come back or left a note with your phone number on it so you could apologize to the owner. If it was just a couple minutes ago, I recommend going back there and do one of the two options I have said. Good luck!

• Anonymous
    5 years ago