which nations were made permanent members of the united nations security council after the war?

plz help!!!! thnx;)

5 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Today the 5 permanent members of the Security Council are:

    The United States of America, The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, The People's Republic of China, The Russian Federation, and The French Republic.

    This is a change from the original members. After WWII, the members were:

    The United States of America, The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, The Republic of China (Taiwan), The Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (Soviet Union), and The French Republic.

    Source(s): UN Charter: Article 23, Paragraph 1
  • 1 decade ago

    The five nations were the United States of America, Great Britain, France, China, and the Soviet Union(now Russia).

    The reason these countries became the members was because they were the allies that won the war, and they all had nuclear weapons when the Security Council was formed in 1948.

    At the present time they are all members and each has veto power, but there are other nations that rotate on the Security Council for limited terms.

    Source(s): un.org
  • Anonymous
    6 years ago

    The 5 nations were China,United states of america,Great Britain,France and the soviet union(now it is Russia

  • nodell
    Lv 4
    4 years ago

    think of say 200 countries, the final public of worldwide places yet no longer the final public of the inhabitants, make a terrible determination, and the 5 countries on the protection guidance, who symbolize the final public of the inhabitants weren't in a position to surrender some rediculous flow - what do you think of would take place. Now i've got not examined that the inhabitants numbers are actual - however the coolest judgment stands to reason. additionally, the final 2 international Wars in contact those countries, and those style of countries have nuclear weapons.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    China, France, Russia, UK n US

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.