What does the CONFEDERATE FLAG represent?

I've heard it's suppose to be offensive to black people, but then I've heard other people say not necessarily.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

No, it has become offensive because of people's lack of education. The flag that promoted slavery was a yellow flag with a rattlesnake on it. The Confederate flag was the flag promoting separating from the Union.

The Civil War was not started over slavery but over unfair taxes given to the southerners.

As for Union soldiers, majority of them did not give a darn about Black people in fact the biggest slave owning state was Rhode Island- yes many northerners illegally had slaves. Also, keep in mind northerners would send runaway Black slaves back to the South.

The wealthy did not fight in this war, and only the wealthy had slaves.

Source(s): for the people who thumbed me down, you have been brainwashed by the northern education system and honey I'm a teacher in the north
    • Login to reply the answers
  • neet
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago

The Confederate flag represents the Southern states' rights...the south wasn't nearly as industrialized so the they depended heavily on agriculture, and they needed slaves for that. Northerners weren't particularly fond of blacks either but bc they didn't need slaves, they recognized the horrors of slavery more and most northerners were against it.

No, the Civil War wasn't fought over slavery BUT that was one of the many issues that divided northerners from southerners and southerners DID want to keep their slaves. The slavery issue is the issue that stands out most to us today and that is why the Confederate flag is offensive.