My professor returned a gift I gave her for writing me a letter of recommendation - was I in the wrong?

My college professor who teaches five classes and recently had her second child (in other words, she's SUPER busy!) agreed to write me a letter of recommendation about a month ago. About two weeks after she gave me the letter, I gave her a hand-written thank you card and a gift certificate to her favorite restaurant. I really like her a lot, and I wanted to know how much I appreciated what she did for me, because she didn't have to do it, even if I am a good student. Besides, she's so busy, so her writing me a letter was a really nice thing. However, she returned the gift card, saying it "wasn't necessary," and that the thank you card was enough. She wasn't exactly mean about it, but it was very uncomfortable. I felt mortified, and cried a bit about it later that night. I'm worried she thought I was bribing her or something, even though I only gave her a gift AFTER I got the letter. I still feel incredibly humiliated and stupid, especially considering that you can't return a gift card! Was I in the wrong? I have always given a thank you gift after receiving a letter of recommendation, and I know a lot of other students do...

Update:

It's not against the rules to give a teacher a gift at my school. Like I mentioned, many of my friends give small gifts after teachers take the time to write them letters.

15 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

I had a professor who told a story about a lovely statue he received from a student for whom he wrote a recommendation. He said (as someone else has already mentioned) that it would seem very much like a "quid pro quo" arrangement, but he could not return the gift and so donated it to his department. Your professor was probably in the same position.