An egg is a vegetarian food or non-vegetarian food?

I am veggie,I `m very eager to know whether it is veg or non-veg!

18 Answers

  • Amy
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

    I consider eggs being vegetarian- it's not actual meat.

    Now, if you were vegan, it's a whole other story. Vegans are the ones that don't eat ANY animal biproducts- no butter, eggs, milk, etc, anything from an animal.

    Vegetarians just don't eat the flesh of the animal. Biproducts they do- such as milk, cheese, eggs, yogurt, etc etc.

  • 4 years ago

    Yes...eggs are a product from an animal but the egg is not a living thing and the animal it came from was not slaughtered to get the egg. Although there are a few different types of vegetarians, the main thing they all have in common is that they eat no animal flesh (this includes fish despite what some ignorant people might think). Since egg is not flesh, it can be considered vegetarian friendly. Lacto-Ovo vegetarians (the most common) use dairy and egg.

  • 1 decade ago

    It is a definitely a Non-vegetarian. Any by-product whether be it egg or meat or lard or fat - any form is considered as non-vegetarian. I am a veggie too and do not eat any eggs or meat.

    I am going to contradict myself by saying this. I do use milk, cheese (rarely) and other milk products. Then why do I call myself a vegan.

    Bottom line, whether it is a vegetarian or not, it is up to you to decide. If you like it, eat and if not do not even bother.

    For me I do not like any form of meat, eggs, fish, seafood, and even too oily foods. And that's me and family calls me a picky eater.

  • 1 decade ago

    Hard to say. It's definitely animal, no doubt about that. I mean, it's an unfertilized bird embryo, like saying it's pre-bird. But then again, it's not the actual flesh of an animal.... or is it?? I mean, it's the flesh of an unfertilized bird embryo, it's what flesh as we know it develops from, yes? It's animal, pure and simple.

    However, strictly speaking, because it's not fully developed into the flesh that we know as flesh, it's not considered to be meat.

    EDIT: It may not be fertilized, so it's not the end of the egg's life. However, it does come from cruelty, because the hen's life is a living helllllllllllll. She's cramped, with as much space for herself as one sheet of notebook paper. She can't spread even one wing, and the "floor" she stands on is wire, so her feet get cut and infected. Her food is dirty, so is her water, even has poop in it. Her air quality is HORRID, full of urine and fecal dust, and causes lung diseases. Also, the air is so full of urine that even her skin gets irritated and raw. She has no quiet time, no space, no place to even scratch the ground or take dust baths, things which she naturally does, things that are instinct to her. Her life is a living hell.

    I would never eat eggs.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    Its a vegetarian food, depending on the type of vegetarian you are. If you are a lacto-ovo, (one that consumes dairy and eggs)then eggs can be included in your diet.

    If you are a vegan then it can not be part of your diet because it is a product that comes from animals.

    My oldest daughter is a vegetarian, and she is a lacto-ovo vegetarian thus, she eats eggs occasionally.

  • ?
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

    Depending on what type of vegetarian you are... Ovo-vegetarian eats eggs. The eggs that are sold are usually not fertilized, if you find a wee blood spot in your egg yolk it means it was fertilized. So basically it is your choice if you want to include eggs in your diet.

  • 1 decade ago

    Personally, I don't like to eat eggs. I can't stand the smell or the taste. When I was a little kid in the 60s we would get eggs with blood in them sometimes. My mother would say "oh, that one must have been fertile."

    I know they say eggs from a supermarket aren't fertile anymore, but it still freaks me out. I don't want to eat them.

  • 1 decade ago

    It's up to you...for Vegans, it a no-go.

    For some ovo-lactarian vegetarians (those who eat eggs and dairy) it's okay in moderation.

    Vegetarian means VEGETABLES usually.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    An unfertilized egg is vegetarian food. Ovo-vegetarians, like myself, include eggs in their diets.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Vegetarians are allowed to eat eggs.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.