what is a good point and shoot camera?

I am in the market for a digital camera and i am very new at this since its my first digital camera. and it must have digital stabilization and be able to take videos. All i know is i dont want a dslr because of their size. and please no websites that offer tips on buying a digital camera because ive gotten plenty of those. I am just looking for your opinion thanks.

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

As an advanced photographer with two pro DSLRs and an array of lenses I was looking for a light compact camera that will still have some of the features I am so used to from my DSLRs. This camera has the best lens in the industry bar none. Leica is superior to any other compact point and shoot lens out there (except other Lumix cameras that all use a Leica Lens). The camera is fast wt start up and can take 3 FPS in sports mode. It packs a 10X optical zoom and on the TZ5 can go up o 17X with some resolution loss. I never use Digital zoom as I do not consider it a zoom.

The Camera ergonomics is great, may of the features photographers need are easily accessible and well though of. I have been using the TZ3 for 2 years and took more than 10000 pictures with amazing results. I take many night shots and this is really where this camera excels. It can take 15, 30 and 60 seconds exposures which no other compact can do.