IQ test result 160+, is it correct?

I am a 13 year old girl, and I recently sat an IQ test and a practise quiz on Mensa. On the IQ test, I got a result of 160+ (it could only go up to 160) and on the Mensa quiz, it said I could qualify for Mensa. I'm not sure if I believe these, although I am a very smart kid (I am supposed to be going into top classes for everything for my third year subject choices, and have been told by my teachers for the past nine years that I am a extremely bright student). I find it hard to believe that I am part of the 2% of the populations who's IQ is above 160, which is why I doubt the answer. If you could recommend an free online test that gives an accurate answer, that would be a great help. Thank you!

Update:

The test I sat was not an online one, it was a small pack of folded cards with questions, and you had to answer in 30 minutes.

Update 2:

I understand online tests are not that accurate

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Eric
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I have very similar results, (160-180 on online tests, and MENSA practice exam said I was qualified). I recently took a professional test administered by a psychologist and got a 142. So, it is likely that you have a close score to mine (135-150, probably around 140).

Einstein, Hawkings, and Bill Gates all were thought to have IQ's of about 160. I doubt either of us is as intelligent as them.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

First of all the whole IQ system was developed in 1904, and many dispute whether it actually has any bearing on a persons intelligence.

Second, your IQ stays the same no matter what age you are. I was tested at age 8, 15, and 25 with the same results ranging between 160-170, but the test must be done by a professional (not online) because the tests factor in much more than just your answers, but also your demographics and other current statistics.