Anonymous
Anonymous asked in PetsReptiles · 1 decade ago

I want to get a pet snake...?

I want to get a pet snake but im not sure what breed to get. i live in Melbourne Australia and i am looking at buying my first pet snake. i have heard the the best breeds to get are the children and carpet snakes. what is the best breed out of the two?

I want to get a big snake so i am wondering which one grows to be the longest. i have heard that the females are bigger than the males but which gender should i get?

also where should i get the snake? to be really specific i live in Footscray so there is a living jungle near me but should i look into buying from breeders? thanks for reading, i look forward to reading any answers.

Update:

so i have heard that ball pythons, carpet pythons and childrens pythons are the snakes to look for for beginners. which one to get?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Well, i'm not an expert in this area, i've done more reading on lizards, however, if you want to get a sexed animal, then it will cost more, especially if you go for female. Also, it would depend upon their previous owner as to how tame they are.

Some breeds can be tame, like milk snakes and corn snakes, which are relatively common first timers, and also are good feeders (some snakes can be prone to problems feeding, which you don't want first time). Sizes of milksnakes can range to extremely tiny (kingsnake) to about 6ft, and most commonly available ones, at least in UK, are good to handle. Cornsnakes are generally good too.

Some pythons (like certain kinds of carpet pythons) can be very good pets, a little trickier to care for, but still good pets. Also, i think can be more trickier to tame down.

With some species, there is a greater chance that they will be aggressive and can have larger personality variability in the species.