When you get adopted - what is on the childs part?

Like - What does the child have to do if anything, And the soon to be parents, what do they sign and stuff. I want to write a novel and it so happens to include adoption, but i have no experience or know anybody with it. So could someone please tell me what happens?

Also, do the parents just go up to a kid and say "I want that one?"

2 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

There is a HUGE process when it comes to adopting kids. There is a ton of paperwork, home inspections, legal issues, background checks, interviews from references or friends of the prospective parents... it's a huge process.

A case worker will represent the child (along with maybe dozens of other children). Case workers usually represent specific kinds of kids. Some specialize in kids with specific mental disabilities, some specialize in kids whose parents had drug problems, some specialize in kids who can't speak English.

There is also someone who works for the parents, a representative who knows all the laws and can help the parents with the paperwork and who works with case workers.

Before a child is adopted, the parents know everything about the child from the case worker's files. They know the child's history, whether they've been to court, if they've been diagnosed with a disease, how many places they've lived, what kind of problems the child has had, what kinds of grades the child has.

Once the child's case worker has met with the parents and has decided that the parents might be a good match, the parents are allowed to meet the child. They come to the foster home or group home and just talk with the child, to see if there is a connection, to see if the child responds to them.