Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Cars & TransportationMaintenance & Repairs · 1 decade ago

What is it when your steering wheel jumps when you turn it?

I have a 2002 ford explorer, recently the steering wheel started jumping and jerking when you turn the wheel. im no car expert, so i need a lil help figuring out what it is.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

i'd have to know exactly how it reacts to be sure.. possibly a bent steering arm or an malfunction in the steering column, possibly a faulty tire...

or this is very basic but most vehicles come with a steering column height ajustment just on the bottom side of the steering column, make sure the latch is fixed close/locked into position...

i have read a few other responses, CV joint is possible but there is no way for this to have anything to do with your belt, lol, as for power steering it rather works or doesn't, if it is almost impossible to turn then yes its power steering rack, if not then it has nothing to do with it, if the power steering rack was bent or boots have exposed shaft it won't have any fuild in it and with no fluid will not work at all...

Source(s): in mechanics and smash repair for 14yrs
  • 1 decade ago

Sounds like the power steering fluid is contaminated. The power steering fluid can become badly contaminated as the power steering system wears and the contaminates in the fluid can make the steering wheel stutter or jerk when you turn. The early signs of power steering fluid contamination is steering stutter or jerk when you first start out while the fluid is cold... e.g. jerky steering on cold mornings. You really should have a power steering flush and fluid change about every 60,000 miles. Try that and see if it smoothes the steering and puts an end to that jerky spasmodic stuttering when you turn. I bet it will.

• 1 decade ago

If it is Front Wheel Drive it could be the or a CV joint.