Anonymous
Anonymous asked in TravelAustraliaOther - Australia · 1 decade ago

how can you make sure that a huntsman spider doesn't get into my car and house?

i am moving to Australia soon and the only thing that is worrying me is the spiders. I don't care if they are not poisonous and harmless it's the SIZE. How can i make sure that i don't get big spiders in my car and house?

13 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha. There is only certain way, don't come here. Seriously, huntsman spiders can flatten themselves down and get in anywhere. And although they're not venomous, any spiders bite can be poisonous, depends what they've been eating and how dirty their fangs are when they bite you:) They tend to hang up high though, I've been driving for 25 years, and have only had two scary encounters in the car, nearly caused a multi car pile up in peak hour though, pulled the visor down to block out the sun, and there it was, the size of, no bigger than my hand! I got it with the umbrella, the traffic hadta wait! Why are you picking on the poor huntsman anyway, they eat the cockroaches? There are heaps more scary spiders in Australia, the Funnel Web, Google that one, giggle. I'm from Scotland so I know how you're feeling, we didn't really even get flies and ants there-too cold. You get used to the insects soon enough, and they become more of a pest than a terror! Most of them will stay outta your way. It's the snakes you should be worrying about. Just kidding!

PS- the person telling you that removing webs will help control huntsmen obviously doesn't know much about spiders, Huntsmen do not spin webs, which is why they are called Huntsmen, they are ambush feeders. Also I don't know what part of Australia she lives in but here in Queensland (esp up north) spiders are a hell of a lot bigger than 50 cents, unless she means the rapper, then it's a bit closer.

• 4 years ago