Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Games & RecreationGambling · 1 decade ago

In poker, can the ace serve as a 1 aswell?

for example, is an ace, 2, 3, 4, 5 a straight?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • Joe
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    An ace can be used as a 1 for a five-high straight, as per your example.

    Otherwise, it HAS to be used as a high card. Here's an example of THIS.

    Supposing the cards on the board are: J-J-77-A; you have K-9 and your opponent has Q-9. You CAN'T declare the ace to be low, which would make you the winner. The ace HAS to count as high, meaning you and your opponent have a tie, & must split the pot.

    The only 2 exceptions to this rule are in the game of lowball, in which aces ALWAYS count as one; and in any high-low split game, where you can CHOOSE whether or not your ace is high or low. In high-low split, you can even count your ace as high when determining who has the high hand, and THEN turn around and call that SAME ace as LOW in order to also win the other half of the pot with the lowest hand!

  • 1 decade ago

    yes an Ace is used high or low

    but can not be used around the corner such as K A 1 2 3

    remember a 5 or 10 must be in the hand for you to have a straight

  • 4 years ago

    Poker Ace

  • 1 decade ago

    Yes it does but as mentioned above I believe you can not go over the top ie have a straight which is K A 1 2 3. Atleast not in texas hold'em.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 4 years ago

    yes the ace high flush will take that anyday unless someone has a straight flush which is exactly what it sounds like. Just remember the best 5 cards win no matter if on the board or in your hand.

  • 1 decade ago

    Yes most of the time - but certain games where the lowest hand win make the Ace always high. Do check carefully when playing low games. One example is http://bit.ly/4JZyt

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    nope...it's an ace....there is no such card as a 1......in every form of poker ace,2,3,4,5 is a 5 high straight....in low ball it is a 5 high straight..

  • Just L
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

    Yes it counts as a 1 and 11.

  • 4 years ago

    I'm interested in this

  • 1 decade ago

    yes

    Source(s): book of hoyle
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.