Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsOutdoor RecreationHunting · 1 decade ago

Stopping power: 357 magnum vs 45 acp?

Using a 357 revolver with 4" barrel, or 45 acp with 5" barrel.

If you only had one bullet in each gun to shoot a psyco, drugged up criminal with, which gun would you choose between these two calibers (and why)?

Update:

repentant sinner, there is no reason for your nasty remarks.

I am only asking which round would be better for self defense if that kind of situation should occur. I live in Memphis, Tennessee, and in a fairly bad part of town (This condo is all I could afford).

By the way, I am 26 years old, so an age limit on the hunting section would not apply to me.

Thanks!!

Update 2:

Also, to repentant sinner, if you wasted so much of your precious time on this question, then why the ****did you even answer it?

28 Answers

Relevance
  • H
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

I am a retired Texas Peace Officer. For the last thirteen years of my career as a street COP my duty automatic was a Glock Model 20 10mm w/Trijicon Nighsights and high capacity magazines. Why? Because of the possibility that in the execution of my duties I might one day encounter a scenario such as the one you have described. The 10mm does it all. It is good protection against two or four legged predators and other things that go bump-in-the-night. At a 100 yards the 10mm has as much power as the .45 acp does at the muzzle. It is ballistically similar to the old .41 Remington Magnum. Fear no evil.