Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Business & FinanceInsurance · 1 decade ago

How do I open a Auto Insurance Agency in TX?

I have been doing auto insurance for around 5 years and I am ready to venture out on my own. I have my lic. already and know who is and is not going to let me write for them. Where do I go from here? I know I need a E & O policy, and a bussines bank account for my premiums to be swept daily and a DBA as well as a tax id. Is there anything else I am missing or need to do?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

You will also need a Certificate of Occupancy for your office space & in some states they also require that you obtain a Basic Business License & that you obtain a state tax registration number for use in filing Property Taxes, Annual Reports, etc. You will also need to obtain a Federal Identification Number to be able to open a bank account (and depending on the state requirements you might have to open two bank accounts--one for Premium/Escrow funds where you keep clients monies and the second one for your operating funds), report unemployment tax, pay Federal withholding taxes, etc.

Even though you have your companies lined up, I suggest that you start on a Business Plan including a Marketing Plan, Mission Statement, SWOT analysis, etc. Once you have this done you can approach the companies & convince them that you will be able to successfully & profitably market & sell their policies.