pg asked in Business & FinanceSmall Business · 1 decade ago

Independent contractor versus Employee?

Last year I worked for a company for 3 years and was told I was a full time independent contractor. I worked on site, used the employer's equipment and took direction and training from the creative director. I was expected to be there between 9 and 5 each day. I billed them once every 2 weeks for the hours, not by project.

In October of last year I was looking for a change and applied to a real full time position. My employer got word and offered to hire me right away. I currently work as an employee at this position now.

However, due to insane tax payments I owe for under estimating, and after doing my research, I would like to approach the employer in a professional manner and explain that I feel my services were taken advantage of.

1. Do you agree that I should have been considered an employee the whole time and the employer should have been paying half my taxes?

2. What do you think would be the best way to approach the employer about this while still remaining professional and not burning any bridges (or is that possible)?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

As an employer it may be difficult to understand whether you should hire an employee or independent contractor. The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) uses three main categories to determine independent contractors:

Behavioral Control – An employee is generally told when, where and how to do the work.

Financial Control – An independent contractor can realize a gain or loss. An employee will be paid by the company and taxes are to be collected by the employer.

Type of Relationship – Usually independent contractors will have a written contract with specific outcomes to include a timeline.

Misclassification of and Employee