Sophie asked in Society & CultureLanguages · 1 decade ago

How long will it take to learn FRENCH fluently?

Hi im a sophomore in high school and in French 2 and i was wondering how long it will take me to learn french fluently?

Thanks!!

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

It really depends on what method you use.

If you go to France and study there you could become fluent in 6 months.

If you stay in the U.S. and keep taking French classes throughout High School and college you still wouldn't be fluent--you would be intermediate to lower advanced (if you take it throughout college).

If you study French in the U.S. through hs and then take vacations to France or Quebec, use French with some natives or French speakers in your neigborhood, and study online, etc you could become fluent in about 2-4 years.

The thing is you have to use the language.

I've taken Spanish in middle school and high school for 5 years and still not fluent because I never use it outside of school and I never been immersed in the language.

• Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

The time it takes to become fluent depends on several things, the most important of which is whether you are living in a francophone country. If you live someplace like France or Québec for a year, you will most likely be fluent towards the end of that. If you're not living in a francophone country, it can take 5 to 10 years, or more.

The other factors are

1. Your age - the younger you are when you start, the better

2. Your aptitude for language - some people are just better at language than others

3. The effort you put into learning - if you practice every day you'll learn and remember a lot more than someone who goes to class once a week but never practices outside of class

• Anonymous
    4 years ago