Ivy asked in HealthDiseases & ConditionsCancer · 1 decade ago

Leukemia, symptoms, follow-up and relapse.?

I'm writing a story about leukemia, it's a teenage boy who get this. I did a few research but because it branches out to four types and i was quite confused with some of the symptoms and relapse. I figured out that i should perhaps study more about it since I'm a medical student as well, so, I wanna know, is

1. which type of leukemia will reoccur after years? or does it depend on successful rate of the chemo treatment?

2. if it relapses, which symptoms appear first before another? (disease progress/severity)

3, as for the follow-up if it's a ALL, how long does the patient follow-up? and does he/she take anymore chemo/drugs during the follow-up period?

Update:

also, i know it might be rare, since there are treatment and bone marrow transplant available, but i read somewhere that there are people who dies from leukemia, but in truth, does a person dies from it?

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

1. which type of leukemia will reoccur after years? or does it depend on successful rate of the chemo treatment?

After treatment begins, the goal is remission of the leukemia (when there is no longer evidence of cancer cells in the body). Once remission has occurred, maintenance chemotherapy is usually used to keep the patient in remission. Maintenance chemotherapy is given in cycles over a period of 2 to 3 years to keep the cancer from reoccurring. Leukemia will almost always relapse (reoccur) if this additional chemotherapy isn't given. Sometimes the cancer will return in spite of maintenance chemotherapy, and other forms of chemotherapy will then be necessary.

2. if it relapses, which symptoms appear first before another? (disease progress/severity)