How many college students are there in Los Angeles (ballpark)?

I'm trying to get a rough estimate of the total number of college students there are in the greater Los Angeles area. Some schools I would include on my list are UCLA, USC, CSUN, Pierce, CSULB, SMC...

4 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Well, it depends on if you're only counting big name private schools, UCs, Cal States, and Community Colleges, or if you're including small, unaccredited institutions. If you include all, there are about 300,000 "colleges and universities" near LA, many of which have 2 or 3 students at a time (I was a curriculum developer for one that only granted Master's degrees in Public Administration, with an average of 5 students at a time). There's the Long Beach Bible College or the Chinese Medicine and Acupuncture colleges and things like that, but I will not count them.

I'm going to include some of the "big" schools in LA County:

UCLA

USC

Cal State LA

Cal State Long Beach

Cal State Dominguez Hills

Cal State Northridge

Cal Poly Pomona

El Camino College

Mt. San Antonio College

Mt. Saint Mary's College

Santa Monica College

Long Beach City College

Pierce College

Occidental College

LA Southwest College (I teach here)

West LA College

Loyola Marymount University

LA Harbor College

Pasadena City College

Cal Tech

I'll just stop there and low ball. Most of these schools have student populations between about 10,000 and 40,000, so let's just average it to 20,000 x 20 = 400,000. Its probably closer to 600,000 though. (According to the LA Community College District, there are 135,000 students in the Community Colleges alone, which doesn't include the bigger ones like Mt. SAC, Long Beach, and El Camino)