Need help on buying camera! Nikon D80 or Canon Rebel xti ?

Ok so i want to begin to dive into photography. Im a newbie with no training or understanding of all i will need to know.. I want to take professional quaity photos! I plan to really become serious in this hobbie. I like the nikon d80 and the canon rebel xti.. i know there differences and the whole preference thing im seeing on here.. Is there another camera i should be looking into, with same quaility? I personally am leaning on the nikon side right now.. I know that i will need to purchase alot of lens, can you suggest which to get to please? I want to take pics of my daughter in cemetarys, fields, inside with tutus on (think amanda keeys) ect... I also want to do funky stuff like all black and white but draw out one color and bring blues greens out of water ect... please help im clueless.. i also really cant afford to go crazy with money.. i have found a nikon for 300.00 online but then i need lens right??

Thanks for answers, please be as detailed as you can.. i have alot to soak in; im feeling..

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I actually had the nikon d80 which I only had for about 4 months before I decided to sell it, personally it is a nice camera but not what I was looking for. the picture quality is good but was not thoroughly impressed.

Only reason why I had it was because it was a christmas gift.

I am a loyal to Canon.

I have the canon rebel g (film)

canon rebel xt350

canon rebel xti400

canon EOS 30D

the best thing about canons are the lenses. I was able to use almost all of the lenses I have for the film camera with the digital. The only problem I ran across was some of my lenses would not take to the digital but the problem was quickly resolved, all i had to do was send it into canon and they chipped it to work with my digital, all done for free, just had to pay for shipping.