Charges for being caught with marijuana at 18 years old?

What are the charges for being caught either smoking or handling marijuana and being 18 or 19? I live in Lexington, South Carolina if that helps figure out the information. I was just curious, because I know someone who got caught by the cops with pot, he's 18 or 19, and I was just wondering, what's gonna happen to him?

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    http://norml.org/index.cfm?wtm_view=&Group_ID=4563

    Possession

    1 oz or less (first offense)* misdemeanor 30 days $100 - $200

    1 oz or less (subsequent offense) misdemeanor 1 year $200 - $1,000

    More than 1 oz

    see Sale or Trafficking

    *Conditional discharges possible for first offense.

    Cultivation

    Less than 100 plants felony 5 years $5,000

    100 to 1,000 plants felony

    25 years MMS**

    $25,000

    1,000 to 10,000 plants felony 25 years MMS** $50,000

    More than 10,000 plants felony 25 years MMS** $200,000

    **Mandatory minimum sentence.

    Sale or Trafficking

    Less than 10 lbs felony 5 years $5,000

    10 to 100 lbs felony 1 year MMS** $10,000

    100 to 2,000 lbs felony 25 years MMS** $25,000

    2,000 to 10,000 lbs felony 25 years MMS** $50,000

    10,000 lbs or more felony 25 years MMS** $200,000

    To a minor, or within a one-half mile radius of a school, public park or playground felony

    10 years

    $10,000

    **Mandatory minimum sentence.

    Miscellaneous (paraphernalia, license suspensions, drug tax stamps, etc...)

    Paraphernalia possession civil citation none $500

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

    Well i live in Georgia and last summer my brother got caught with pot, and they took him to jail for the night. Then at court he didn't really get in much trouble, i think he got cleared. But i know other people that it was worse for so i think it varies especially if he has good connections. It really depends on if he was selling then he would be in much more trouble. Also if it was a first time offense.

    • Login to reply the answers
  • 5 years ago

    what are the charges in colorado for having a pipe in your car at the age of 19

    • Login to reply the answers
  • lodi
    Lv 4
    3 years ago

    probation, a very good, drug checks, and probably community service. even as think ofyou've got no longer something to be aggravating about idk how that is on your state tho yet i stay in md and that i recognize those that were stuck with coke and stuff and performance basically gotten community service, a very good, drug checks, and probation

    • Login to reply the answers
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    $2500 fine, imprisoned for no more the 25 years (depending on the amount they found him with), or both.

    Source(s): S.C. Code of Laws
    • Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

    it a four letter word called jail.

    How do I get a thumbs down for a truthful answer? wow some of you people are really ignorant.

    • Login to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.