Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Kevin asked in Politics & GovernmentMilitary · 1 decade ago

What is the Canadian air force like? Thinking of joining?

I'm currently a 19 years old student training to be an aircraft maintenance engineer. A teacher said that Royal Canadian Air Force is hiring people in my field, so I'm thinking of applying for full-time position as a maintenance tech.

If I apply for full-time, will I have to live at the base? If I do, how much leave am I allow per year? Also, what is the minimal service length for my position and what am I to expect once I get in?

Update:

Thanks for answering! Just one more thing, "living off base", does that mean that I go home after work at the end of the day?

1 Answer

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

My fiance is a maintenance tech. Like you, he went to college before joining full-time. After college he was in the Army part time and working as a civilian for Air Canada and IMP and soon realized that the military offered more permanent work and he wouldn't have the risk of being laid off, so he joined the Reg Force and remustered to become Air Force.