What is the curfew law for the state of Maryland?
And if anyone knows if it also concerns towns, Hagerstown of Washington County.
Age and time?
- MooreLv 71 decade agoFavorite Answer
Maryland doesn't have a blanket juvenile curfew, so it is left to counties and cities to make their own laws based on necessity. Washington County far as I can tell doesn't have a curfew law.
But Hagerstown does have one. The law is under Part II, Chapter 79 of the city code.
It defines the so called "juvenile" as "any unmarried, unemancipated person under 16 years of age."
The restricted hours themselves are as follows:
11:00 p.m. on any Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday or Thursday until 6:00 a.m. of the following day; and 12:01 a.m. until 6:00 a.m. on any Saturday or Sunday.
There are exceptions:
A. When a juvenile is accompanied by the juvenile's parent.
B. When a juvenile is attending or returning home by a direct route without any unnecessary detour or stop from a City event, a school activity or an activity of a religious or civic organization, or of a place of public entertainment, such as a movie, play or sporting event.
C. When the juvenile is engaged in a legal employment activity or is returning from or going to his or her place of employment by a direct route.
D. When a juvenile, with consent of his or her parent, is engaged in interstate travel through the City, or beginning or ending in the City.
E. When a juvenile is on the property where the juvenile resides, or on the sidewalk abutting the juvenile's residence.
F. When a juvenile is exercising his or her First Amendment rights protected by the United States Constitution, including the rights of freedom of speech, assembly and the exercise of religion, after providing the Chief of Police with advance written notice of the time, place and manner of the exercise of such rights, signed by the juvenile and his or her parent.
G. In case of an emergency.
Punishment for violation can be handed out to the juvenile and/or the parent. It can be as small as a verbal warning all the way up to $500 dollars in fines.